Constructing Constructivist Constructs…

August 5, 2009 at 6:16 am Leave a comment

I had no idea what constructivism was.  I admit it.  I sat in class, while Judith provided an awesome overview of constructivist learning ideas and concepts and all I could think of was, “I must have the absolute smallest zone of proximal development ever.”

Cause, as they say “size matters.”

After an awesome session with the case study team, where there was much discussion on learning theory and specifically constructivism – I feel that I’m getting a grasp, albeit a shaky one, of this complex (ha!) learning theory.

But, as we near the end of our residency, I am concerned: the face to face interaction that I have found so needed to help my understanding of this concept develop (and in the past, similar interactions have allowed difficult concepts to also blossom) – I am faced with the reality that was somewhat focused on today: when, where and how will interactions such as the group session today take place in the virtual environment?  What strategies can I employ to assist with the adjustment from a f2f learning environment to a truly virtual learning situation? 

Entry filed under: 1.

Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures Flogging the blog…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


